Educational Technology

Recently, I have managed to get some recognition for the use of Classcraft and connecting it to the Taylor’s University LMS (Learning Management System) Moodle platform. First a bronze at the Taylor’s University SPARK awards and a silver medal at the National University E-learning Carnival held at a renowned educational University in Malaysia UPSI – University Pendidikan Sultan Idris – (Sultan Idris Educational University).

12346481_1062618757111261_4223377675629666177_n

When I was exhibiting my poster presentation at UPSI, during the Carnival, I have had the priviledge of meeting many innovative and inventive educators who have used different kinds of applications as well as creating new ones all for one purpose; to make learning interesting and effective in more ways than one! It was such an eye opener! I have learnt so much from many of them but there was always the nagging question about educational technology. Some have asked me questions like, ‘what technology do you use in your classroom?’ and not ‘what applications/tools did you use’.

I simply told them I just used educational ‘tools’ to assist me in my teaching. But as far as technology is concerned, I asked them ‘how you do perceive e-learning? is it the ‘technology’ or the tool? Well, to cut a long story short, basically we used the e-learning tools because that isn’t the technology. We are! The educator is the technology! More exploration coming soon!

Leave a Reply

